Photo of Anita Hill by Ken Richardson.

Photo of Anita Hill by Ken Richardson.

The 2020 inductions to the Lawdragon 500 Hall of Fame reflect the amazing breadth of legal talent we have recognized since founding Lawdragon fifteen years ago. This year, we add 41 lawyers to the permanent Hall of Fame, which we first assembled in 2015.

As in past years, the 2020 Hall of Fame class includes some of the nation’s most famous lawyers, including the likes of David Boies, Ted Wells and Ty Cobb. In addition to the most accomplished lawyers from the plaintiff and corporate ranks, we include public interest titans like Connie Rice, David Lash and Patti Goldman – and the incomparable leader from academia, Erwin Chemerinsky.

Given the increasing proportion of women on the Lawdragon 500 over the past several years – topping 40 percent this year – it is fitting that this year’s Hall of Fame class contains so many women who have possessed the strength, determination and power required to change the profession for better. Elizabeth Warren, a professor at Harvard Law School when she graced our 2005 Lawdragon 500, has waged this fight from the classroom to Congress to the political battlefield. And who better to represent this group than Anita Hill,  the essence of strength and brilliance. Both lawyers show how far the profession has come since we started in 2005, and how much work remains.

Name Firm Category
Rosemary Alito K&L Gates Litigators
Clifford Aronson Skadden Dealmakers
Max Berger Bernstein Litowitz Litigators
Alexander ‘Zander’  Blewett Hoyt & Blewett Litigators
David Boies Boies Schiller Power Brokers
Paulette Brown Locke Lord Leadership
Erwin Chemerinsky University of California, Berkeley, School of Law Leadership
Ty Cobb Law Offices of Ty Cobb Power Brokers
Patrick Coughlin Robbins Geller Litigators
Kathleen Fisher Calvo Fisher Litigators
Thomas Fitzgerald Winston & Strawn Leadership
Donald Godwin Godwin Bowman Litigators
Patti Goldman Earthjustice Compassion
Nina Gussack Pepper Hamilton Litigators
James Harrington Harrington & Mahoney Litigators
Richard Heimann Lieff Cabraser Litigators
Lynne Hermle Orrick Litigators
Anita Hill Cohen Milstein Leadership
Cassandra Holleman Harris County Judge Remembered
Jeffrey Kessler Winston & Strawn Power Brokers
David Lash O’Melveny Compassion
Jane Michaels Holland & Hart Litigators
Wayne Outten Outten & Golden Leadership
Lee Phillips Manatt Dealmakers
Stacy Phillips Blank Rome Litigators
John Quinn Quinn Emanuel Innovators
Connie Rice Advancement Project Leadership
Jonathan Schiller Boies Schiller Litigators
Roman Silberfeld Robins Kaplan Litigators
Lawrence Sucharow Labaton Sucharow Litigators
William Urquhart Quinn Emanuel Remembered
Christine Varney Cravath Leadership
Leigh Walton Bass Berry Dealmakers
Elizabeth Warren U.S. Senate Leadership
Howard Weitzman Kinsella Weitzman Innovators
Theodore Wells Paul Weiss Litigators
William Whelan Cravath Dealmakers
Steven Yerrid The Yerrid Firm Litigators
Lawrence Zweifach Gibson Dunn Litigators
Margaret Zwisler Latham Litigators

About the author:
 Katrina Dewey ( is the founder and CEO of Lawdragon, which she and her partners created as the new media company for the world’s lawyers. She has written about lawyers and legal affairs for 30 years, and is a noted legal editor, creator of numerous lawyer recognition guides and expert on lawyer branding. She is based in Venice, Calif., and New York. She is also the founder of Lawdragon Campus, which covers law students and law schools. View our staff page