Lawdragon 2024 Hall of Fame honorees Beth Wilkinson, Yvette McGee Brown and Neal Manne.

Lawdragon 2024 Hall of Fame honorees Beth Wilkinson, Yvette McGee Brown and Neal Manne.

We are honored to announce the 2024 class of The Lawdragon Hall of Fame.

These lawyers truly need no introduction. But we’ll give you a little taste anyhow.

Susman Godfrey has become appreciated near and far as a trial juggernaut, its financials the envy of the nation’s most elite corporate firms and its hiring in the rarest of air. The late, great Steve Susman, of course, founded the firm with fellow Hall of Famer Lee Godfrey. But it is two lawyers honored here – longtime managing partner Neal Manne and rainmaker extraordinaire Bill Carmody – who led arguably the most successful generational transition in law firm history.

A host of environmental lawyers are also recognized – among them Michael Gerrard, Rodney Brown and John Cruden – representing the pioneers who recognized the earth and its bounty, often including people, as something to be preserved. They laid the framework of today’s focus on climate change and doing better for this rock we call home.

Dealmaker Daniel Neff of Wachtell joins his fellow Executive Committee co-chair Ed Herlihy in the Hall of Fame this year, an astounding pairing that led one of the world’s most unique and illustrious law firms and only recently tapped those who will follow in their stead.

Finally, no where will you find more formidable litigators – be they plaintiff lawyers or corporate consiglieres – than at Lawdragon. And our Hall of Fame representatives are magic: Tom Melsheimer and Kimball Anderson of Winston; Sandra Robinson of The Cochran Firm; Beth Wilkinson of Wilkinson Stekloff; Daniel Brockett of Quinn Emanuel.

We could go on, but we’ll leave some of the fun to you. While this guide is selected largely based on our editorial judgment and the assessment of fellow members of the Hall of Fame, we do accept nominations. Those selected here have generally been included many times on a variety of Lawdragon guides, almost always including The Lawdragon 500 Leading Lawyers in America.

We hope this New Year has brought reflection and the courage to do great things. And that these new members of our Hall of Fame bring inspiration.

First Last Organization Location Categories
Sanford Ain Ain & Bank Washington, D.C. Family
Eleanor Alter Alter Wolff New York Family
Kimball Anderson Winston & Strawn Chicago Litigator
Patricia Barmeyer King & Spalding Atlanta Environmental
Sarah Borders King & Spalding Atlanta Litigator
Greg Breedlove Cunningham Bounds Mobile, Ala. Plaintiff Litigator
Daniel Brockett Quinn Emanuel New York Litigator
Rodney Brown Cascadia Law Group Seattle Environmental
Yvette McGee Brown Jones Day Cleveland Investigations, White Collar
John Burris Burris Nisenbaum Oakland, Calif. Civil Rights
Bill Carmody Susman Godfrey New York Litigator
William Chandler Wilson Sonsini Wilmington Delaware
John Cruden Beveridge & Diamond Washington, D.C. Environmental
Scott Dettmer Gunderson Dettmer Redwood City, Calif. Dealmaker
Michael Gerrard Arnold & Porter New York Environmental
Theodore Grossman Jones Day New York Litigator
Mark Hansen Kellogg Hansen Washington, D.C. Litigator
Brian Hennigan Hueston Hennigan Los Angeles Litigator
James W. Johnson Labaton Sucharow New York Plaintiff Litigator
Jay Kasner Skadden New York Securities Litigator
Debra Katz Katz Banks Kumin Washington, D.C. Employment
Ken Klee Klee Tuchin/UCLA Los Angeles Bankruptcy
Ira Leesfield Leesfield Scolaro Miami Plaintiff Litigator
Michael Lehmann Hausfeld San Francisco Antitrust Litigator
Richard Levin Jenner New York Bankruptcy
Victor E. Long Regan Zambri Long Washington, D.C. Plaintiff Litigator
Neal Manne Susman Godfrey Houston Litigator
Keith Martin Norton Rose Fulbright Washington, D.C. Dealmaker, esp. Projects
Randy Mastro King & Spalding New York Litigator
Tom Melsheimer Winston & Strawn Dallas Litigator
Tom Methvin The Beasley Allen Law Firm Montgomery, Ala Plaintiff Litigator
Daniel Neff Wachtell New York Dealmaker
Cheryl Forest Perkins Whetstone Perkins Fulda Columbia, S.C. Plaintiff Litigator
Sandra Robinson The Cochran Firm Baltimore Plaintiff Litigator
Samuel Seymour Sullivan & Cromwell New York Litigator, esp. White Collar
Daniel Small Cohen Milstein Washington, D.C. Antitrust Litigator
Hector Torres Kasowitz New York Litigator, esp. Antitrust
Jim Walden Walden Macht New York Litigator, esp. White Collar
Jack Walker Zeughauser Group Los Angeles Leadership
Rob Walters Gibson Dunn Dallas Litigator, esp. Antitrust
T. John Ward Ward Smith & Hill Longview, Texas Litigator, Judge, IP
Beth Wilkinson Wilkinson Stekloff Washington, D.C. Litigator